PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] newbie in need of help- I think I have kernel problems

phoenixrosebud
July 23rd, 2008, 07:13 PM
I don't know if my computer is salvagable. :(

I upgraded all the way to Hardy Heron but I was having problems with Firefox randomly crashing and my computer crashing (to the point of having to hard-boot it) when I attempted to copy materials from a DVD to my computer.

After looking through many threads on the Absolute Beginners board, it seemed that many people with a similar problem to mine solved it by using a real time kernel. So I switched my system to kernel-rt and it seemed to work okay (though it didn't fix my crashing problems). The next day, I started my computer and I had a lot of updates to install, so I clicked to automatically install them-but I was still doing work on my computer in Firefox and other programs-(and I think that's how I caused some problems for myself).

When I restarted my computer to finish the upgrades, my computer wouldn't fully start. It would get frozen with a plain tan background with the unmoving mouse cursor of doom. If I remember correctly, it usually happened before I logged in, but occasionally I would log in and *then* it would give me that screen of doom after cruelly getting my hopes up.

I tried the elephant acronym trick to try to get out of the freeze, but nothing seemed to work besides hard-booting my computer.

So, I went back to square one. I reinstalled Feisty Fawn (the install/boot disc that I have), and then tried upgrading back up to Hardy Heron, but the install froze partway through and now I can't log in normally. I can log into the failsafe or Gnome modes, but then I don't have access to the internet, and without Ubuntu Forums, I'm pitiful with Ubuntu. Another odd thing is that the error "Failed to Initialize Hal!" comes up when I am able to start the system, but as far as I can tell, that just has to do with energy saving modes.