PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cannot find Kernel Headers

Antishatter
July 23rd, 2008, 06:28 PM
I am somewhat new to Ubuntu and I am currently trying to locate the kernel headers for the hardy 8.6.24.3 kernel. I have not been able to find this online despite several hours of searching and numerous attempts at using apt-get or apt-search. If someone could point me in teh correct direction I would be forever grateful. I was able to locate the kernel source but alas there was no trace of the headers. Thanks in advance! Also, sorry if this is a really dumb question I am still pretty new to the linux community.

Antishatter
July 23rd, 2008, 06:39 PM
I am somewhat new to Ubuntu and I am currently trying to locate the kernel headers for the hardy mid 2.6.24.3 kernel. I have not been able to find this online despite several hours of searching and numerous attempts at using apt-get or apt-search. If someone could point me in teh correct direction I would be forever grateful. I was able to locate the kernel source but alas there was no trace of the headers. Thanks in advance! Also, sorry if this is a really dumb question I am still pretty new to the linux community.

I fixed what was incorrect in my original post because I couldnt locate the edit button! I changed the version to Hardy mid 2.6.24.3. Thanks again!

coffeecat
July 23rd, 2008, 07:14 PM
I fixed what was incorrect in my original post

Whew! I thought for a minute that I'd been transported into a fairy tale and had awoken after a 500-year slumber. I believe the 8.6.24.3 kernel will include a stable driver for starship transportation devices and is going to be incorporated into the upcoming Ubuntu Krusading Klingon release. :wink:

Do you mean you can't find the kernel headers in the filesystem or in the Synaptic package manager? If the latter, they are listed under linux-headers*. And are you sure you mean 2.6.24.3? Have a look in Synaptic to see what I'm referring to.