PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] GParted live CD running, now what?

germanix
July 23rd, 2008, 04:06 PM
As I have explained in a previous post, I would like to format the HHD on my laptop, there by removing XP and installing Ubuntu. To do this I downloaded the GParted live CD. I have started this and I see that there are various partitions on this drive.
/dev/hda1 file sysrem ntfs
/dev/ hda3 extended
/dev/ hda5 ntfs
/dev/hda7 Linux-swap
I have never used Gparted before and have no idea how to proceed to format this whole drive. I only need one partition in the end, so I want to remove all.
Please could anyone tell me how do I get Gpard to format this drive?
much appreciated

Potatoj316
July 23rd, 2008, 04:12 PM
If you want to clear the HD to install Ubuntu and you want nothing but Ubuntu on it you can just use the ubuntu install disk and tell it to use the entire disk.

If you want to use gparted I would sugest deleting all the partitions and then creating new partitions to match what you want your disk to look like after you install ubuntu. You will need an ext3 for all your files and a linux-swap for the swap space (about double what you have in physical RAM)

northern lights
July 23rd, 2008, 04:17 PM
Delete all existing partitons and create a new one. All necessary steps can be taken via the icons in the gparted top menu.

Still, why do you want to do this in the first place?

Flip in the regular Ubuntu LiveCD, run setup and during the process, partiton the whole thing...

drs305
July 23rd, 2008, 04:20 PM
Here are some general guidelines.

If you want to remove partitions and start over, any data on the partition will be destroyed. Make sure you have made copies of any files you wish to keep.

To perform any action with gparted, the partition must be unmounted. There is an option for that under the Partition option.