PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Dell Dimension 3000: Live CD fails to Busybox

R.C.
July 23rd, 2008, 03:55 PM
I am a relative Linux Noob.

I have a Dell Dimension 3000 with 1GB RAM and a 40GB HD partitioned for Dual Boot; GRUB can currently load either Win XP Home, or Ubuntu 8.04, from the boot menu.

I would like to try some other Desktop Linux distros. I've created Live CDs of Linux Mint and Kubuntu, and plan later to do the same for PCLinuxOS, Freespire, and maybe Simply MEPIS. All the CDs are burned at 2x speed, and checked: They're fine.

But when I try to boot from the Live CD, it fails with the Busybox prompt, both on the Kubuntu and Mint CDs.

I have tried hitting F6 to add different boot options. I have tried adding the following options (sometimes in combination, sometimes alone) after the two dashes:

pnpbios=off
acpi=off
irqpoll
floppy=off
all_generic_ide

I also tried hitting F4, which (I think) allowed me to set the video to some kind of compatibility mode or something; I don't recall the exact wording.

ANYHOW, none of that has worked: I always wind up at the Busybox prompt, which is utterly useless since I'm too much of a newbie to know what to do with it.

When I first installed Ubuntu it was Feisty Fawn, and over time I upgraded it to 8.04 via update downloads. But I remember the original Feisty Fawn live CDs working FLAWLESSLY.

SO, I have LOTS OF QUESTIONS:

So, what's wrong with the new Live CD's? Why don't they "just work" like the old ones?

Is there any workaround? Or any easier way to completely replace my Ubuntu installation with Mint, Kubuntu, PCLinuxOS, Freespire, et cetera, so I can see how each one behaves "out of the box?"

Is there any way to troubleshoot EXACTLY what's going wrong with the process? Some kind of logfile or something?

Are there some BIOS settings I need to change?

Finally, it looks like I'm far from alone in having this problem; is there an official bugfix release expected?

Pumalite
July 23rd, 2008, 04:53 PM