PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] how to untar to a specific directory???

locum
July 22nd, 2008, 10:39 PM
Hi all,
I am completely new to Linux and Ubuntu and installed it because of my interest in Joomla, so I am trying to install Xampp but clearly I am doing something wrong, even though I'm following the "how to" instructions.
This is the results I get when I open a terminal and sudo the Xampp tar

tar: xampp-linux-1.5.3a.tar.gz: Cannot open: No such file or directory
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now
tar: Child returned status 2
tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors

I am trying to unzip it to C/ opt

The Xampp tar is on my desktop as is the terminal when I open it. I feel a bit stupid because it's such a simple task and I must be doing something fundamentaly wrong, I have serched for the last few hours for the answer many of which tell you what to do but not precicley how.

Many Thanks. Martin

Tim Sharitt
July 22nd, 2008, 10:42 PM
Change into the directory you wish to unpack the file and pass the full path of the archive to tar.

cd /directory you wanto unpack to
tar -xzf /full path to archive/archive.tar.gz

If you are trying to unpact to /opt you will have to run as sudo.

Troll_the_Great
July 22nd, 2008, 10:43 PM
The easiest way is to just right click on the .tar file and choose "Extract here".After that you can move it anywhere you want.If you want to install it, it's a bit more complicated.Have a look at this links and post back any question you have (and there will be :) ).
http://www.monkeyblog.org/ubuntu/installing/
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/CompilingEasyHowTo

Cheers

freak42
July 22nd, 2008, 10:45 PM
tar cannot find the file you want to untar.

either the file must be in the same directory as you are when you issue the tar filename command or you have to specify the whole path to the file for tar to find it.

Also note there is no C/ opt folder.
The root folder in any linux file system is simply /