PDA

View Full Version : Unix network programming chat client/server

Julius1988
July 22nd, 2008, 02:22 PM
I am new to network programming. Inorder to understand the working of sockets i have coded a simple chat server program but unfortunately i am not able connect to the server using the client,could someone help me in identifying what should i do inorder to establish the connection.

I have uploaded the server & client for your refrence.

clash
July 22nd, 2008, 07:22 PM
I am new to network programming. Inorder to understand the working of sockets i have coded a simple chat server program but unfortunately i am not able connect to the server using the client,could someone help me in identifying what should i do inorder to establish the connection.

Hey man sorry haven't time to look at it now.

Check out http://www.beej.us/guide/bgnet/output/html/multipage/clientserver.html#simpleserver

Fantastic guide to sockets, all you ever need to know.

I will reply if i get a chance to look at your code tomorrow morning. (its late here)

weresheep
July 23rd, 2008, 12:34 AM
Hello,

I've modified your code and it now works. There were a couple of issues that needed to be address as well as some misc coding fixes (such as checking return codes from function calls). Note that I am no where near a sockets expert so take what I say below with caution :)

server.c:
You weren't listening for an incoming connection. After you create a socket and bind it to a port you have to listen() on it for incoming connections. When listen() returns (without error) you can call accept() which gives you a new socket for that connection.

client.c
You weren't passing a socket to read/write. Instead you were passing the return value of the connect() call which upon success is 0. I changed that to read and write to the socket.