PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Script help needed

MaxVK
July 22nd, 2008, 10:36 AM
Hi there, I'm in need of some help with a script, assuming what I want to do can actually be done!

I suffer from RSI (Only a little bit of numbness at the moment, but I'm playing safe) and as a result I have a mouse and a trackball that I can use, as well as swapping the trackball to my left hand.

I can configure all of this in xorg.conf, but Id like to have a script that I can run by clicking an icon on the desktop, that will swap the xorg.conf files for each device.

So for example, I click Icon#1 and it swaps the xorg.conf to the one with the left handed trackball configuration, and then logs out so I can log back in with the correct device. Id need three scripts, each swapping to a different xorg.conf and a different device.

Can this be done, and if so could anyone help me with an example that I could work from. Please remember that I'm pretty new to Linux and I have not delved into scripting at all just yet.

Many thanks

Max

Vadi
July 22nd, 2008, 02:43 PM
Can't help on the script, but if you don't have this yet, install workrave (apt:workrave). Then right-click on the panel, 'Add to Panel', search for workrave and add it. It's a very handy thing to help against / in case of RSI :)

Potatoj316
July 22nd, 2008, 02:51 PM
you could save 3 versions of the file you want to change, one with the original name, one with name_right, and one with name_left. Then write a script that copies (cp) either right or left to the actual config file.

hyper_ch
July 22nd, 2008, 03:36 PM
but exchanging xorg.conf won't alter the behaviour in the current session - at least that's what I think... you'd rather need to have script that issue the commands instead.

MaxVK
July 22nd, 2008, 05:06 PM