PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] First no menu bar, now even gnome gave up

wimmelis
July 22nd, 2008, 02:31 AM
Dear all,

I am fairly new to ubuntu, and this morning when I booted my machine, I had not menu bars, so I searched the forums for help and tried several things (see below), unfortunately they did not solve my problem, but made it even worse.
As now, when I get the desktop login screen, my keyboard layout seems to have changed, which prevented me from logging in. Now that I found the special characters, I manage to log in, but only get a white screen as a reward for that, nothing else is happening or working, no right-click, no left-click no nothing.

Here is what I tried, in relation to the menu-bar:
1) some posts mentioned that right clicking would allow the choice of add panel, but I did not have this option.
2) I tried starting in recovery mode, and then continue booting from there,
3)I also tried to repair packages in recovery mode, but it seems my network is not yet working, so no package repository can be contacted.
4) in recovery mode, I also tried to startx, as mentioned in some posts I came across, but that did not work either.
5) when booted into the normal system, I went to a terminal window, and did
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get --reinstall install ubuntu-desktop
This did not help, so I tried by removing ubuntu-desktop first and then install again, but no luck either.
6) When in normal boot, I also tried to kill the gnome and start it from another terminal, but to no luck, the system just hangs on a black screen.

System details: I am running hardy and have original ATI drivers installed and make use of dual screen configuration.