PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Keeping SSH secure when on untrusted networks?

talz13
July 21st, 2008, 07:41 PM
I'm going to be traveling overseas next month, and plan to be connecting to my server at home via SSH and/or winSCP. Since I don't really trust any of the networks I'm going to be using, what is the best way to protect my SSH? Is it just good enough by itself? Should I make a keyfile to login with?

What about if I have to use (ugh!) an internet cafe PC instead of my laptop? Then I wouldn't trust the connection OR the computer! I mostly just want to upload my photos from my laptop so that I don't lose everything in the event of a lost/stolen/dead laptop.

sp0nge
July 21st, 2008, 07:53 PM
I am new to using SSh myself, but from what I understand, this should provide you with good security. If you don't trust the machine you're using, I would just not do it, but on your laptop, SSh is just fine as far as I understand.

tava0002
July 21st, 2008, 08:18 PM
If you'll be on your personal laptop connecting to a home server the encryption is between those two machines. If anything interferes with that connection by decrypting etc..., it would be considered a man in the middle attack.

talz13
July 21st, 2008, 08:54 PM
If you'll be on your personal laptop connecting to a home server the encryption is between those two machines. If anything interferes with that connection by decrypting etc..., it would be considered a man in the middle attack.

And, if I've connected before and gotten the valid fingerprint, I should get one of those little warning messages saying that the fingerprint has changed?

Endwin
July 21st, 2008, 10:28 PM