PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Problems With Setting Up A Separate /home Partition

johncs2008
July 20th, 2008, 11:24 PM
This is only my first ever post to a Linux forum.

I have been using Ubuntu on and off for a year or so and at that time, I was a complete newbie (although my previous years of allowing myself to be ripped off by a certain, Mr. Bill Gates and his empire meant that I hadn't actually realised that I was only a newbie then).

Because I was a newbie, I struggled to get certain things (mainly pieces of hardware) working in Linux and at times, that would push me back to Windows because I believed that this shouldn't be happening (because I thought that I was more of an expert than I actually was).

Nevertheless, I have gradually built up my knowledge of Linux by reading the posts in this forum (and others), following the appropriate advice in them and in other tutorials on the web which have been referred to from these forums and other such websites. Google has helped a lot in this (although there has been times when I have felt that this has been a fruitless task) and I have also bought a number of books on the subject which have also helped.