PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] video problems hauppage pvr-150 problem

miguel20
July 20th, 2008, 02:07 AM
Hi,
I've read many threads here and on other linux forums which have helped me learn about the inner workings of video capture on ubuntu 8.0x but I still can't solve my own problem.

I have been trying to capture video from my hauppage pvr-150 using VLC and ivtv.

I've managed (I think) to make a little progress but still no luck. I'm an amateur and I really have given it my best shot to work this through...

At this point using VLC in capture mode I see static on my video screen.
My video input is coming from a pal sky (uk satallite) box so there is no channel tuning on my pvr-150 (channel changes are done on the external sat box) as it is just a raw feed. I don't quite understand what channel I should be on to just see this raw input? On a VCR you'd set the channel to AV but this isn't an option on my PVR-150. So I'm confused?

At one point I wondered if my probelm was not locking on to the correct input but I've fed in to coax, svideo and the red white and yellow. Which changes nothing.

Anyone who can offer me a point in the right direction for my SPECIFIC problem I'd be very happy! Thanks

M

itsdaveperdue
July 21st, 2008, 03:54 PM
My video input is coming from a pal sky (uk satallite) box so there is no channel tuning on my pvr-150 (channel changes are done on the external sat box) as it is just a raw feed. I don't quite understand what channel I should be on to just see this raw input? On a VCR you'd set the channel to AV but this isn't an option on my PVR-150. So I'm confused?