PDA

View Full Version : Release Discontinuity and the Upgrade Process

GOfree
July 19th, 2008, 07:31 PM
As a newbie, I find the whole idea of serial releases and upgrading rather disconcerting. I wonder if there are experienced penguistas here who could shed light on the situation and give me some tips to make upgrading less painful.

I don't understand the discontinuity between Ubuntu releases and do not like having to reconfigure half of my system with an upgrade. I started with 7.10 (Gutsy Gibbon) and had an interesting experience getting it to work with my system (AMD 64, ATI drivers, etc.). I learned a lot about my system in the process, but I don't want to do it with every new release. Now, for whatever reason, 8.04 (Hardy Heron) does not work for me. I tried the original release and the 8.04.1 maintenance release, and ended up back with Gutsy. This meant several "upgrades" and clean installs, trying to get the new release working, then having to reconfigure everything back to the way it was. Why is this process so painful?

Am I missing something? How do the experienced users deal with release schedules and upgrades? I have figured out how to make a separate partitition for my home folder, which means that I don't have to back up my work for a clean install. I think that this is a step in the right direction, and it might be something worth implementing as a standard feature of the distribution. But that still leaves all the reinstalling and reconfiguring of packages to be done, which for a novice, can be rather painful and a daunting prospect if it has to be done with every new release, every six months.