PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Videomate U100 USB DVB - driver?



jwatsonoz
July 19th, 2008, 03:48 PM
Hi,

Attempting to get a Videomate U100 DVB USB stick to work. I have managed to get Hardy to recognize it by compiling and installing the following linuxtv project:

http://linuxtv.org/hg/~jhoogenraad/rtl2831-r2

However, it does not communicate with the tuner properly i.e. no channels are found. Stick works with windows - so I'm having to dance with the devil until I get this fixed.

Can anybody help?

thanks,
Jason

xc3RnbFO8P
July 19th, 2008, 04:04 PM
In terminal:

lsusb
show the output.

jwatsonoz
July 24th, 2008, 09:34 AM
Hi, thanks for your message. The stick is registered just fine its the driver isn't working i.e. allowing communication with the tuner chip. (see output from dmesg and kaffeine below)

lsusb
-----
Bus 003 Device 004: ID 185b:0100 Compro

dmesg | grep dvb
----------------
[ 47.022999] dvb-usb: found a 'VideoMate TV U100' in warm state.
[ 47.023009] dvb-usb: will pass the complete MPEG2 transport stream to the software demuxer.
[ 47.053546] dvb-usb: schedule remote query interval to 300 msecs.
[ 47.053555] dvb-usb: VideoMate TV U100 successfully initialized and connected.
[ 47.053580] usbcore: registered new interface driver dvb_usb_rtd2831u


The stick is recognised when I start Kaffeine, but does not tune in. Sample from terminal whilst attempting to tune (it does the same for all frequencies):
...............

Not able to lock to the signal on the given frequency
Frontend closed
dvbsi: Cant tune DVB
Using DVB device 0:0 "Realtek RTL2831 DVB-T"
tuning DVB-T to 585625000 Hz
inv:2 bw:1 fecH:2 fecL:9 mod:3 tm:1 gi:2 hier:0
...............

Not able to lock to the signal on the given frequency
Frontend closed
dvbsi: Cant tune DVB
Transponders: 5
dvbsi: The end :)
Channels found: 0

Has anybody got a working driver for the videomate u100? Are there plans to create one? thanks :)

jwatsonoz
July 31st, 2008, 10:00 AM
Hi again

Where do I repost this to get help?

thanks,
Jason

Tristan85
July 16th, 2010, 04:27 PM
i have the same tuner card.... you have any luck with it.. cause i havent.