PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Urgent help needed

Janeleaper
July 18th, 2008, 07:38 PM
I set up my Dell Inspiron loaded with Ubuntu 3 days ago and had no problems. This morning I got a message to install Hardy Heron. I started the download and all seemed well. Then the installation stalled saying 4 minutes to go.

After about half an hour I tried to use pidgin to get some help on the IRC channel, but I've never used this before and could not get it working.

I turned the computer off at the tower. Turned it on again and I seem to have completely lost everything. The log in came up o.k. but after that I just have a blank brown screen with a large black margin to the left hand side.

What do I do? I have no technical know-how - so simple language please!

Pumalite
July 18th, 2008, 07:49 PM
Do a clean install of Hardy Heron.

Janeleaper
July 18th, 2008, 07:52 PM
Thank-you, but how do I do that?

Pumalite
July 18th, 2008, 07:57 PM
Download the iso from here>
http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/download
Burn it to disk.
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BurningIsoHowto?highlight=%28burn%29%7C%28
Install. Go Manual and use the old partitions. You can ignore /swap

http://www.howtoforge.com/dual_boot_windows_xp_vista_ubuntu_feisty_p2?
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=464425

Janeleaper
July 18th, 2008, 08:21 PM
I have a disc for Ubuntu version 7.10, which Dell supplied with the pc. I've tried putting it in the disc drive but nothing happens.

Pumalite
July 18th, 2008, 08:24 PM
Get Gparted Live CD:
http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=115843&package_id=271779
Burn the iso to disk and boot from it. Delete everything in your hard drive. Format ext3.
Install Ubuntu.

mocoloco
July 18th, 2008, 08:36 PM
Get Gparted Live CD:
Burn the iso to disk and boot from it. Delete everything in your hard drive. Format ext3.
Install Ubuntu.

Why download and burn a separate iso when the Ubuntu 8.04 liveCD has gparted? Is there anything better about the gparted live?