PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for teaching old dogs new tricks?

Tomosaur
July 17th, 2008, 06:18 PM
Good day sires and....siresses?

My grandad is a volunteer at a credit union, and takes the collections from the front desk. Up until now they've been using old fashioned pen and paper, but they're now switching over to a computer system to take the load off the admin staff and general staff when it comes to registering the customer's input and outgoings, as well as offering new services for customers.

Anyway, what I need is ideas for how to go about teaching my grandad general computer use. He doesn't need any specific skills, he just needs to be able to find his way around, get him used to the keyboard, know which programs do what, etc. He's not an absolute newbie to computers, as he likes to play a quick game of Solitaire every now and then, but he isn't a regular computer user by any means.

I know it's kind of vague, but if you have any ideas about how I could get him up to speed with computers, that'd be great. Unfortunately I can't just stick Ubuntu on his new laptop and have him mess about, as the new system at the credit union requires Windows. I don't want him to have to worry about viruses and all that stuff, so I'll set up all of the necessary security and firewall software.

I suppose what I basically need is to instil a sense of confidence in him when he's using a computer. For the most part he's just relied on one of his kids or grandkids to sort any problems he ran into out, but now that he'll be using the machine regularly, he can't rely on one of us being there to guide him through things.

If any of you have any experience teaching novice users, I'd really appreciate any tips. Any software you know of (for Windows) that are useful when learning how to use a computer would be great.

Cheers!

fiddledd
July 17th, 2008, 07:24 PM
I can only relate my experience getting my Wife to use a Computer.