PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't even run a live cd...

mattylight
July 17th, 2008, 05:04 AM
Hey everyone I'm Matt...

and I'm a huge noob to linux, but so far I'm enjoying myself. I have an old Averatec 3200 series notebook on which I figured I would install ubuntu. It has lousy specs, and can barely keep up with XP. It has an AMD ath XP-M LV2200+ running at 1.26 GHZ, 480MB RAM, and a 60G hd.

So here is the problem, I have 3 ubuntu CDs, which all work just fine on every other computer I own, except the averatec. I boot from the cd drive, and the typical welcome screen comes up with the language selection. I choose the first option, to run from the live cd, then it goes to the ubuntu logo and the little back and forth thing. After this it flashes the same 4 lines at the top of the screen several times, and those four lines eventually stay. They are as follows:

* Starting deferred execution scheduler atd [ok]
* Starting periodic command scheduler crond [ok]
* Checking battery state... [ok]
* Running local boot scripts (/etc/rc.local) [ok]

then it stops doing anything. I can type below that, but nothing happens. Sorry if this has been covered elsewhere, I did lots of searches and came up empty. So any help would be awesome!

I can't wait to install ubuntu on my new acer one when I get it friday...

Rocket2DMn
July 17th, 2008, 05:14 AM
You may want to try using the alternate install cd - it doesn't have a live session, just a text based installer, but it is intuitive and easy to use. You can get it at http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/download by checking the box at the bottom for the alternate cd. The LiveCD doesn't work for everybody, but the alternate cd works for basically everybody since it doesn't have to deal with X (the GUI stuff). After install, you should be OK, the LiveCD just has limited support.

mattylight
July 17th, 2008, 05:19 AM