PDA

View Full Version : HOWTO: Application launchers with File Selection Tool

the_it
July 17th, 2008, 04:03 AM
Problem statement:
I am a writer working on various kinds of text files. Because of this, I put an application launcher on my panel to shortcut to launching text. HOWEVER...

The normal process of opening a program either from the menu or from an application shortcut involves

Opening the program
Invoking the "open file" command in the program
Hunting for your file in the file-selection utility

This is a waste of time for me, and I finally was fed up. The ordinary unix way to do things was to open the program with the filename in mind in a single step. Doing things the GUI way was painful and annoying. So I thought to edit my menu item to add a file-selection utility, and here's how I did it.

My system is a 64-bit Hardy Heron running GNOME, but it should work for any version of ubuntu and any Desktop in general.

If you want to just read a quick summary, then look scroll to the bottom of this post or press ctrl+F then type "Phew!"

Solution:
It's a very simple idea. Just add an application launcher to your panel. That application launcher should invoke a command that opens a file dialog. The file dialog is called zenity.

First, make sure that you have zenity. Open a terminal and install zenity from the repos.

sudo aptitude install zenity

Zenity is a convenient command-line utility for opening graphical dialogs with the user. You can check how to use it from its manual page.

man zenity

In my examples below, I use the gvim editor. You don't need to use it just to be able to follow what I'm doing, but if you want to do exactly as I do, then you can go ahead and install it too.

sudo aptitude install vim-gnome

=====