PDA

View Full Version : Question about GPLv3 controversy (Stallman v. Torvalds?)

erans
July 16th, 2008, 05:29 AM
I've been reading some articles about the history of Linux and I came across a few by Dan Lyons (the fake Steve jobs) talking about Richard Stallman's plan for a GPLv3.

In it, he writes:
HP has asked Stallman to eliminate a clause that would prevent companies that distribute GPLv3 programs from bringing patent infringement claims against those programs in the future. Stallman has refused to remove the clause.

And Linus Torvalds, who created Linux 15 years ago while he was a college student, doesn't like another GPLv3 clause that would prohibit companies from using GPLv3 code to create digital rights management (DRM) schemes. Torvalds says he won't adopt the new license and will stick with GPLv2 instead.

I'm new to the whole free software thing, so I don't really understand the controversy here (especially the first paragraph in that quote). Also, what are DRM schemes? Copyrighting programs that use open-source code? Like Red Hat Enterprise?

I wasn't sure where to put this thread. Seems like it should fit in "Beginner Talk."

Thanks in advance! I'm very interested in this subject now. Link to the Lyons article here: http://www.forbes.com/technology/2006/08/31/stallman-linux-opensource_cz_dl_0831stallman.html

This one is also good: http://members.forbes.com/forbes/2006/1030/104.html?token=MjMgU2VwIDIwMDcgMDE6NTk6MDMgKzAwMDA %253D

nanotube
July 16th, 2008, 05:30 AM
there's a lot to be said on this topic... but as in most cases, wikipedia will give you a good start.

erans
July 16th, 2008, 05:39 AM
I'm especially confused about this statement: "a clause that would prevent companies that distribute GPLv3 programs from bringing patent infringement claims against those programs in the future."

I really don't have any idea what that means. Bringing up lawsuits against programs that you're distributing yourself?

erans
July 16th, 2008, 05:50 AM