PDA

View Full Version : How to compile and run C programs ?

Gaurav_Shah
July 15th, 2008, 03:46 PM
Hello Everyone,
I am new to Ubuntu I am having a little 'C' program with me
//hello.c
#include <stdio.h>
void main()
{
printf("Hello From Ubuntu");
return ;
}

when I tried to compile it using "cc hello.c"
I get following errors :
hello.c:1:19: error: stdio.h: No such file or directory
hello.c: In function ‘main’:
hello.c:4: warning: incompatible implicit declaration of built-in function ‘printf’
hello.c:3: warning: return type of ‘main’ is not ‘int’

can you tell me how to fix it ?
moreover I will like to install anjuta when i tried to get it from add/remove pakages system was geting hang . So i download anjuta-2.4.2
than i select install but it not worked.
Can you tell what can be wrong ?

And yes Thanks in advance.

PaulM1985
July 15th, 2008, 04:02 PM
Try changing "void main()" to "int main(void)" and "return ;" to "return 0;" that should work

Paul

Zugzwang
July 15th, 2008, 04:33 PM
Gaurav_Shah, read the stickies (The article "Please <blink>*READ THIS*</blink> before posting" at the top of the list of topics in this forum) . Somewhere there you will find the FAQ about compiling your first C program. Read it, follow the instructions and come back if you have any questions.

EDIT: To make it easier for you, look here (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=689635).

ConMan318
July 15th, 2008, 07:06 PM
In the terminal, type:

sudo apt-get install build-essential

And I would use

gcc filename.c

rather than 'cc', though I don't know if it matters. I know 'gcc' stands for GNU Compiler Collection, so I don't know what you would be compiling with if you use 'cc'. Both seem to work though, so I suppose it doesn't matter much as long as it works.