PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How can I install through command-line?

xilefian
July 15th, 2008, 03:07 PM
I get the black-screen installation error but I managed to work around it to the command-line, but I am new to linux so I don't know how to install ubuntu using the command-line.
Or if there isn't a way then how can I get past the black screen?
I can't even reach installation step 1.
Safe graphics doesn't work, removing splash doesn't even work, removing quiet mode gets me to the command line and vga lines just change my resolution around and nothing else. The hold F6 options havent changed anything either.
Please help!

overdrank
July 15th, 2008, 03:19 PM
I get the black-screen installation error but I managed to work around it to the command-line, but I am new to linux so I don't know how to install ubuntu using the command-line.
Or if there isn't a way then how can I get past the black screen?
I can't even reach installation step 1.
Safe graphics doesn't work, removing splash doesn't even work, removing quiet mode gets me to the command line and vga lines just change my resolution around and nothing else. The hold F6 options havent changed anything either.
Please help!

Hi and welcome, could you give us some system specs?
Also did you check the cd for errors and verified the checksum on the ISO?

xilefian
July 15th, 2008, 03:59 PM
Hi and welcome, could you give us some system specs?
Also did you check the cd for errors and verified the checksum on the ISO?
It's an ordered CD so it's no downloaded ISO and I didn't burn it, I figured that an ordered CD would be more reliable.
Also, I checked it over for errors thousands of times and there aren't any.
The laptop is:
256 RAM
20 Gig HDD
VIA Family Graphics Chipset
OS: Mandriva One Free 2008 (I want to go back to Ubuntu)

overdrank
July 15th, 2008, 04:41 PM
It's an ordered CD so it's no downloaded ISO and I didn't burn it, I figured that an ordered CD would be more reliable.