PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problem Booting Ubuntu without windows drive

trebnoj
July 15th, 2008, 02:25 PM
Hello Everyone! I've been using Ubuntu for a couple of months now and I really like it, and I've been trying to keep a low profile on these boards but I've finally come across a problem I can't seem to solve on my own:

Ok, so when I first installed ubuntu (8.04, BTW), I had windows XP installed on my primary hard drive, and ubuntu got put onto the secondary (just standard master/slave IDE setup, both 80GB single partitions). Recently I had to replace the motherboard, so I decided just to take things one step at a time and just make sure Ubuntu worked before I attempted to get both hard drives working. When I tried to do this, however, I realized that the only way I could get either drive to boot was to have both drives in place. (the fact that my windows drive gives me a grub error 21 is hopefully unrelated, and I'm just taking this one disaster at a time) It seems that when ubuntu installed itself it somehow requires the windows drive in order to boot.

Anyway, so if my theory here is correct, how do I "unconnect" the ubuntu install from my windows drive? Somehow there must be a way to make them more independent, correct?

run1206
July 15th, 2008, 02:40 PM
wassup trebnoj,
Ubuntu uses a feature called Grub to mount either your Windows or Linux hard drives during its boot process. If you're getting a grub error, maybe grub wasn't installed properly or was deleted somehow. There's a tutorial in the weekly tutorial section for reinstalling Grub. (i'll try to find the link shortly...)
If somehow you are able to access you grub files through your menu.lst file

cd /boot/grub
sudo gedit menu.lst
from there shows you what partition goes to which drive. I'm not quite sure if you can run each drive seperately though.

prshah
July 15th, 2008, 03:22 PM