PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] SoftwareRAID during Install



duiu
July 15th, 2008, 02:12 AM
I am installing ubuntu Server 8.04. I have a 8.7GB install IDE drive. I have two 1TB SATA drives that I want to mirror using RAID1. The first time I did this, I screwed it up and set two active drives and stuff got screwed and it wasn't mirroring. So I went through the install again. I configure the two SATA drives to be "physical volume for RAID" and then go to "Configure software RAID" The old RAID shows up again, and I can't delete it. It says it's "might be in use." How the heck do I get it to go away so I can set 1 active and 1 inactive drive? And then how do I tell that my RAID is actually working?

Thanks

duiu

fjgaude
July 15th, 2008, 02:51 PM
I'm not sure how to get out of your situation, but I do know that once you setup a drive as part of an array the only way to get it out is to have mdadm zero the drive's superblock.

Now where you are, you have to have mdadm installed on your machine. Then use this command to zero:


sudo mdadm --zero-superblock /dev/sd[n]

That might do it.

To learn about software raid on Linux here's some links:

http://shsc.info/LinuxSoftwareRAID
then study /usr/share/doc/mdadm/FAQ.gz and md.txt.gz

http://linux-raid.osdl.org/index.php/Main_Page

Take your time for there is lots to learn when using software raid.

duiu
July 15th, 2008, 07:22 PM
OK, thanx. I decided to go a long route and install windows and reformat my drives in NTFS to wipe everything clean. Then I'll restart.

Formatting 1TB takes a long time...