PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] boot stops before grub unless dvd drive has bootable disk

bholtby
July 14th, 2008, 09:30 PM
I'm a newbie (to linux). Installed Poseidon v3 (ubuntu derivative) onto second SATA drive (sdb). First SATA drive (sda) has WinXP. There are als0 two IDE drives. Install went normally without errors. Reboot stopped after the BIOS searched both DVD drives with only a flashing cursor on screen. The machine responds to ctrl-alt-del so it isn't hung just in some error state. The machine is set to boot first from DVD and then from hard disks. I discovered that boot goes to grub and both linux and XP will boot fine if there is a disk in either of the DVD drives-the bios asks if I want to boot from the DVD and if I do nothing grub appears and will boot into either OS. If I reset the bios to first boot from the HD then same result if SATA1 is first but if SATA2 is first then grub returns error 17. Is solution to figure out where grub is installed and then to set that drive first in line for boot? Thanks for any help.

logos34
July 14th, 2008, 09:39 PM
and if I do nothing grub appears and will boot into either OS.

Which hard disk was set as the boot drive at that point?

bholtby
July 14th, 2008, 09:45 PM
SATA#1, the disk that windows is on is first and then sata#2, the disk that ubuntu is on, then one of the ide drives.

prabbit237
July 14th, 2008, 10:27 PM
I realize this is off-topic but.....

"Food for thought: "Since the human genome is 3 billion base pairs long, 3 gigabytes of computer data storage space are needed to store the entire genome." "

Even disregarding the 1024!=1000 and also ignoring being able to use a non-lossy compression, you still would only need .75 gigabytes of storage since the genome is base-4 and thus only needs 2 bits/base pair. So a byte can hold 4 base-pair's worth of info.

logos34
July 14th, 2008, 10:34 PM
I realize this is off-topic but.....