PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Partitioning drive for linux

lhatch951
July 14th, 2008, 06:22 PM
I'm new to Linux and here is my situation.

I installed Ubuntu, but it erased all the files on my hard disk including windows XP. I need XP to do the things i can't do with Linux.

I want to partition my drive in windows BEFORE I try to install Ubuntu again.

I would prefer not to run another all night recovery process =(

PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!

lhatch951
July 14th, 2008, 06:23 PM
Srry. I wasnt clear. HOW do I partition my drive??

Pettman
July 14th, 2008, 07:09 PM
There are many ways. The easiest for you, since you probably already got a desktop install cd, would be to boot into a live cd session and use the partition editor found under system->administration->partition editor (a quicker way to start it would be to press alt+f2 and type 'gparted' and press enter). Once you have started the partition editor the following procedure should get you where you want.
Make a backup of all important files you have got on your computer before proceeding.

Depending on if you already have a windows partition or not, initial steps will vary a bit.

If you do: Use the move resize button to shrink the partition to desired size (this will be space available to windows, the empty space after it will be used for your Ubuntu installation).
If you do not: Make a ntfs partition of desired size at the start of the disk and then proceed as instructed below.

Split the space intended for your Ubuntu-install into 3 partitions.
One with a size around 5-10 GB for the system-files (usally refered to as root file-system or simply '/' )
One for your own files and settings (usually called /home-partition, since it it mounted at /home)
One swap partition if you feel you need it (either if you got less than 1 to 2 GB of RAM or you want to suspend your computer to disk). About the double size of your RAM was the rule of thumb back when ram was pretty expensive, now you can go with less.