PDA

View Full Version : simple html question (navbar)

shoagun
July 13th, 2008, 04:59 AM
I just started learning how to do basic web development. I'm trying to solve a problem that I imagine has been solved many times over. Basically, I want the same navigation bar to appear on every page of a site that I'm building. However, I don't want to copy and paste the same html into the .html file for each page. If I want to later edit the navigation bar, it would be slightly annoying. It is much cleaner to write the code for the navigation bar once, in a single file and then refer to that file whenever needed.

So far, every solution I've found to this problem involves either:
1. using PHP
2. using some external website building program

My question is:
Is there any way to do this WITHOUT using PHP or any programs?

Thanks!

Phristen
July 13th, 2008, 05:06 AM
Yes, you can use frames.

ad_267
July 13th, 2008, 05:09 AM
I just started learning how to do basic web development. I'm trying to solve a problem that I imagine has been solved many times over. Basically, I want the same navigation bar to appear on every page of a site that I'm building. However, I don't want to copy and paste the same html into the .html file for each page. If I want to later edit the navigation bar, it would be slightly annoying. It is much cleaner to write the code for the navigation bar once, in a single file and then refer to that file whenever needed.

1. using PHP

My question is:

Thanks!

Well you could use another scripting language other than php. But basically no, you can't do this with only html and css.

You could have a look at server side includes, a very basic scripting language that is basically designed only for this sort of thing. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Server_Side_Includes

Edit: Yes you could use frames but that isn't a very simple or accessible solution and I wouldn't recommend it.

LaRoza
July 13th, 2008, 05:15 AM

1. using PHP

My question is:

Thanks!