PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installation of Ubuntu 8.04 fails repeatedly due to partition problems

NGKEIB
July 12th, 2008, 10:06 PM
Hi all,

I've been trying to install Ubuntu for most of the day, using the official Ubuntu CD. Don't have Windows, so I just want to put the disc in, and have Ubuntu as my sole OS (no dual-boot etc.). The normal installation always freezes, so I run it in safe graphics mode, and it works fine up until a point.

I get to the step in the installation process that is about partitioning, and as I'm fairly new to this, I initially selected the guided method, and finished the rest of the steps. When it tried to partition, it would get to 5% and then I would get this message:

"Failed to create a file system

The ext3 file system creation in partition #1 of SCSI1 (0,0,0)(sda) failed."

I tried again repeatedly, but always with the same result. Tried to do it manually, and would create a new partition tree (or whatever it's called), create a 20 GB ext3 file system for the /, and also create a 2GB swap one, and leave the rest unfilled, and try to proceed, but I would get the exact same message, also at 5%. I'm getting a bit frustrated, and would be eternally grateful for any advice.

NGKEIB
July 12th, 2008, 10:31 PM
In case anyone wants any specific info, let me know.
I'm using a Toshiba Satellite A105-S4074, with 512MB RAM and a 120GB HD.

Ognid
July 17th, 2008, 02:03 AM
I am having the same exact problem. I am using a HP Pavilion DV6000, 64-bit system. Vista has been removed. I would like to install Ubuntu ASAP. Thank you for your time.

Partyboi2
July 17th, 2008, 02:27 AM
Have you tried using gparted to create the partitions first before running the installer. From the ubuntu live cd go system>admin>partition editor

Edit: You can also download the gparted live cd from here (http://gparted.sourceforge.net/)

Ognid
July 17th, 2008, 03:13 AM