PDA

View Full Version : What is the difference between the distros

clanky
July 12th, 2008, 05:46 PM
I have been using Ubuntu for a few months now and have been given a fedora CD, when I eventually installed and booted from my portable HD I was quite shocked to find that in terms of looks it was exactly the same.

I have both the Gnome and KDE versions installed and there is very little difference in looks between either of these, so what is the difference in terms of functionality? Is software compatible with various distros or is it specific to one?

Lostincyberspace
July 12th, 2008, 05:54 PM
It depends from distro to distro and even version to version.

Different distro will have impliment something before the other ones normaly only have that exsclusive for up to 1 release maybe even less.

An example
Fedora includes a combined library for fire fox, openoffice, and gnome tools, while none other have it. This is planed for the other major competitors in their next releases though.

Canis familiaris
July 12th, 2008, 05:57 PM
Fedora uses RPM i.e. Read Hat Package Management
Ubuntu uses DEB i.e. The Debian Package Management

clanky
July 12th, 2008, 06:00 PM
Fedora uses RPM i.e. Read Hat Package Management
Ubuntu uses DEB i.e. The Debian Package Management

What is the difference? Does this mean that software for ubuntu will not run in fedora or are there versions of most software for both distros. Is there a different process for installing new software?

ryaxnb
July 12th, 2008, 06:10 PM
I have been using Ubuntu for a few months now and have been given a fedora CD, when I eventually installed and booted from my portable HD I was quite shocked to find that in terms of looks it was exactly the same.

I have both the Gnome and KDE versions installed and there is very little difference in looks between either of these, so what is the difference in terms of functionality? Is software compatible with various distros or is it specific to one?