PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] wireless problems with Intel 3945ABG

Snakebit 001
July 12th, 2008, 02:25 AM
My wireless card worked when I first installed ubuntu, but then it stopped working. Apparently this is an issue related to the drivers and suspending the computer, and there are ways to fix it, but I'm very new to linux and haven't been able to follow the all of the instructions...
after using 'sudo /etc/init.d/hal restart' the computer started recognizing the wireless card but wireless still won't work.

$ iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.
eth0 no wireless extensions.
wmaster0 no wireless extensions.
wlan0 IEEE 802.11a ESSID:"" Nickname:""
Mode:Managed Channel:0 Access Point: Not-Associated
Tx-Power=0 dBm
Retry min limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr=2346 B
Power Management:off
Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

$ sudo lshw -C network
*-network DISABLED
description: Wireless interface
product: PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:04:00.0
logical name: wmaster0
version: 02
serial: 00:13:02:9b:eb:e8
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list logical ethernet physical wireless
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=iwl3945 latency=0 module=iwl3945 multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11a

sudo lspci -vvv
04:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection (rev 02)
Subsystem: Intel Corporation Unknown device 1010
Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR+ FastB2B-
Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
Latency: 0, Cache Line Size: 64 bytes
Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 17
Region 0: Memory at d6000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
Capabilities: [c8] Power Management version 2