PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] gnome session doesn't start at all....

knockonankur
July 11th, 2008, 08:16 PM
Somebody plzz help
I'm a newbie..

I happen to install ubuntu 8.04 on my windows xp machine with dual boot
the installation was complete and successful

Then when I tried to log into ubuntu the gnome session simply didn't start.....
After I entered my password the screen went completely orangish for a while and then again the username promt window displayed and this cycle repeats continuosly.....
the gnome session doesn't start at all
Though I'm able to hear drumbeats in the background after logging

However I'm able to freely log into fail safe mode without any probs...

Help will greatly be appreciated to enrich my first linux experience....

Rallg
July 11th, 2008, 08:25 PM
Try this: Log in to recovery mode, which gives you a text console. When you finally get a command line prompt:

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

That might find some packages that weren't included with your installation. Then re-boot. It may or may not help, but it won't hurt. It sounds as if your graphics driver is wrong.

bkasindorf
July 12th, 2008, 05:52 PM
Try this: Log in to recovery mode, which gives you a text console. When you finally get a command line prompt:

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

That might find some packages that weren't included with your installation. Then re-boot. It may or may not help, but it won't hurt. It sounds as if your graphics driver is wrong.

Hi,