PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New ATI graphics card installation problems

arlw2008
July 10th, 2008, 01:32 PM
Hi, I have been using ubuntu on my desktop computer for about 6 months now and really do like it. I recently upgraded my monitor to a 22in, as my graphics card couldnt output at a high resolution and use compiz, i decided to upgrade to a Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 3450 with a PCI Express interface. When i put the card in to my computer and booted up, the computer booted up as normal then got to just before the ubuntu loading screen and then the screen just turned off. I tried booting from the live CD, but that didnt work either. I tried re-installing and that didnt work. My guess is it a driver issue as the computer outputs to the monitor in vga mode on start up but as soon as it gets to the loading screen (which uses a driver with the graphics card...i think) the screen goes blank.

The motherboard that im using is a Asus A8N-E Deluxe, with an AMD athlon 64 3000+ venice core. Im not sure on the exact spec of ram and hard drive but i assume that doesnt matter for this problem.

Any help will be gratefully recieved, pls let me know if you need any more information inorder to help.

Thanks in advance.

chalewa
July 10th, 2008, 01:33 PM
did you try getting the fglrx drivers from the ati website?

edit: https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/9206/0/www2.ati.com/drivers/linux/ati-driver-installer-8-6-x86.x86_64.run

you can get the new 8.6 driver there, and follow these instructions:

http://wiki.cchtml.com/index.php/Ubuntu_Hardy_Installation_Guide

arlw2008
July 10th, 2008, 01:59 PM
Thanks for the quick response i have but i have having a few problems with them. But i think that i may be able to resolve them with abit of playing about. If these drivers are correctly installed, when i put the new graphics card in, will it work straight away even though i would have installed the drivers using my old graphics card? sorry if this is a stupid question.

chalewa