PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Hard problems with audio device - Ver. 8.04 - Sony Vaio VGN-AR31S

mrvaio
July 9th, 2008, 09:16 AM
Hi all,

I'm new here and I hope that somebody help me to solve my pc enigma. I have a Sony Vaio VGN-AR31S laptop. It is a big laptop, a desktop replacement.

On board it has Windows Vista and all perifericals works good. I am a developer and I need to install a linux distribution to work.

I have installed first of all Ubuntu using the wubi and the audio worked perfectly so, I thought to install seriously the Ubuntu in one of 2 my SCSI HD but at the login I can hear 3 welcome tamburine sound and the loop of any sound reproduced by the system.

I have updated all the system and I have updated the alsa drivers too but nothing.

I have spent 15 hours to solve this problem, these are the specifics of my sound card::

aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: STAC92xx Analog [STAC92xx Analog]
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

################################################## ################################################## #################################

lspci -v

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
Subsystem: Sony Corporation Unknown device 81fd
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 4
Memory at d2300000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
Capabilities: <access denied>

################################################## ################################################## #################################

modinfo soundcore
filename: /lib/modules/2.6.24-19-generic/kernel/sound/soundcore.ko
alias: char-major-14-*
license: GPL
author: Alan Cox
description: Core sound module
srcversion: 548AA54AF08207316C104F8
depends:
vermagic: 2.6.24-19-generic SMP mod_unload 586

#DMesg

[ 45.482558] [<f8c2c5c3>] snd_hda_codec_read+0x53/0x80 [snd_hda_intel]