PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] conky....



fignig
July 9th, 2008, 02:01 AM
where is this conkyrc file? so i can edit it to my own satisfaction...

sharks
July 9th, 2008, 02:05 AM
its in home folder(hidden). its name is .conkyrc

spiderbatdad
July 9th, 2008, 02:05 AM
create one in your home folder...called: .conkyrc

That is; (dot)conkyrc

Dr Small
July 9th, 2008, 02:07 AM
Check here:

/etc/xdg/conky/conky.conf

That's where I found it on mine.

tad1073
July 9th, 2008, 02:07 AM
.conkyrc is stored in your home folder

http://conky.sourceforge.net/screenshots.html

fignig
July 9th, 2008, 02:07 AM
its in home folder(hidden). its name is .conkyrc

that's neat how u tell me it's hidden, and u don't tell me how u find it...

Dr Small
July 9th, 2008, 02:08 AM
that's neat how u tell me it's hidden, and u don't tell me how u find it...
By default, there shouldn't be a .conkyrc in your home folder. You have to create one, or use one from someone else.

tjwoosta
July 9th, 2008, 02:09 AM
usually there is no ~/.conkyrc untill you make it

fignig
July 9th, 2008, 02:10 AM
usually there is no ~/.conkyrc untill you make it

FINALLY! someone w/ a ******* brain...

fignig
July 9th, 2008, 02:13 AM
how do i make .conkyrc if it won't let me?

tjwoosta
July 9th, 2008, 02:26 AM
ok

first find a .conkyrc you like that someone else made

here is a good place to start
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=281865

then do


sudo gedit ~/.conkyrc

(this opens a blank text document)

just copy and paste the .conkyrc right from the thread into your text editor then save

now start conky

you may need to make minor changes to the .conkyrc (like using wlan0 instead of eth0, or maybe changing some text or colors)

fignig
July 9th, 2008, 02:48 AM
i keep getting the error:

Conky: MPD error: problems getting a response from "localhost" on port 6600 : Connection refused


i tried changing all of the eth0 to wlan0, but that didn't work, or i didn't find all of them?

fignig
July 9th, 2008, 02:49 AM
i keep getting the error:

Conky: MPD error: problems getting a response from "localhost" on port 6600 : Connection refused


i tried changing all of the eth0 to wlan0, but that didn't work, or i didn't find all of them?

when i try to run conky thru terminal this is what follows it.

Conky: /home/pete/.conkyrc: 30: no such configuration: 'on_bottom'
Conky: use_spacer should have an argument of left, right, or none. 'no' seems to be some form of 'false', so defaulting to none.
Conky: desktop window (10000b6) is subwindow of root window (1a6)
Conky: drawing to desktop window
Conky: drawing to single buffer
Conky: MPD error: problems getting a response from "localhost" on port 6600 : Connection refused

fignig
July 9th, 2008, 02:52 AM
actually conky will open, but it just keeps flashing on and off. and i can't seem to position it to where i want it..

Metaleks
July 9th, 2008, 02:58 AM
actually conky will open, but it just keeps flashing on and off. and i can't seem to position it to where i want it..
This is because you need scripting knowledge to tweak/edit .conkyrc to make it display how you want to. Check out this thread for some of people's conky files:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=281865

Just take someone else's and play around with it.

tjwoosta
July 9th, 2008, 03:01 AM
i think you should either try a different .conkyrc or edit that one

the errors that you are getting are coming from the conkyrc trying to do stuff that your computer doesnt have


Conky: MPD error: problems getting a response from "localhost" on port 6600 : Connection refused
this is probly somthing in the configuration trying to check email or something

like i said you may need to go through the configuration and change things to suit your computer


Conky: /home/pete/.conkyrc: 30: no such configuration: 'on_bottom'

read line 30 of .conkyrc

SkonesMickLoud
July 9th, 2008, 06:03 AM
Everything you need to know about conky can be found in these two threads:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=205865

and

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=281865

Both of which are found by using the search feature.

RiceMonster
July 9th, 2008, 06:16 AM
ok

first find a .conkyrc you like that someone else made

here is a good place to start
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=281865

then do


sudo gedit ~/.conkyrc

(this opens a blank text document)

just copy and paste the .conkyrc right from the thread into your text editor then save

now start conky

you may need to make minor changes to the .conkyrc (like using wlan0 instead of eth0, or maybe changing some text or colors)

It's probably not a good idea to use sudo to edit ~/.conkyrc, since it's in your home directory. He then wouldn't have permissions to use it.

tjwoosta
July 9th, 2008, 06:28 AM
It's probably not a good idea to use sudo to edit ~/.conkyrc, since it's in your home directory. He then wouldn't have permissions to use it.

thats actually a good point

im just so used to throwing in a sudo

so it should be


gedit ~/.conkyrc (NO SUDO)

akiratheoni
July 9th, 2008, 06:31 AM
The best way for me to edit the .conkyrc was just to go through the post your .conkyrc files and find one I liked then copied it into .conkyrc and just edited it from there.

aktiwers
July 9th, 2008, 07:31 AM
The best way for me to edit the .conkyrc was just to go through the post your .conkyrc files and find one I liked then copied it into .conkyrc and just edited it from there.

Same for me

fignig
July 9th, 2008, 09:43 AM
Same for me

that's what i'm trying to do, and i just keep running into errors. but i'm gonna try a few more, yay!

aktiwers
July 9th, 2008, 09:48 AM
It is actually i little like HTML if you that. The {some stuff here} could be a color for next lines of code. or it could be a graph and so on. Look at the names inside the {} and it wont be to hard to figure out.

Also make sure the one you choose dont have another script it runs, that could cause errors, if you did not download the same script and place it in the same dir as the creator.

Else post your .conkyrc here and your errors or in the "post your .conkyrc" thread and I am sure people will help :)

fignig
July 9th, 2008, 09:50 AM
okay i think i found a good one. is there anyway to make conky always stay on top but u can't click on it? or that would cause problems in itself... discuss, would it be logical? and or possible?

aktiwers
July 9th, 2008, 09:55 AM
Open your .conkyrc file and search for:
own_window_hints

it probably has one or more words afterwards, like "below" or something.

Then replace it with this:

own_window_hints undecorated,below,skip_taskbar

TheSlipstream
July 9th, 2008, 09:56 AM
Well, I've been following this thread to create my own Conky install, which worked perfectly until I rebooted. It's in the Startup things, but nothing shows up at startup. When I try to open it through the terminal, I get this: Conky: use_spacer should have an argument of left, right, or none. 'no' seems to be some form of 'false', so defaulting to none.
Segmentation fault

It still doesn't show up. Help would be much appreciated!

aktiwers
July 9th, 2008, 09:58 AM
Could you post the file here? I mean your .conkyrc :)
Then we can have a look

TheSlipstream
July 9th, 2008, 10:01 AM
All right, here goes.


background yes
font Zekton:size=7
xftfont Zekton:size=7
use_xft yes
xftalpha 0.1
update_interval 1.0
total_run_times 0
own_window yes
own_window_type override
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_hints undecorated,below,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
double_buffer yes
draw_shades no
draw_outline no
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders no
minimum_size 220 5
maximum_width 220
default_color d7d7d7
default_shade_color black
default_outline_color black
alignment top_right
gap_x 10
gap_y 40
no_buffers yes
cpu_avg_samples 2
override_utf8_locale no
uppercase no # set to yes if you want all text to be in uppercase
use_spacer no

TEXT
$nodename - $sysname $machine
$kernel
uptime $uptime
freq ${freq}MHz
load $loadavg
${time %a %b %d %Y} ${alignr}

cpu0 ${cpu cpu0}% ${cpubar cpu0}
${cpugraph cpu0}

mem $mem / $memmax $alignr $memperc%
$membar

swap $swap / $swapmax $alignr $swapperc%
$swapbar

/ ${fs_used /} / ${fs_size /}$alignr${fs_free_perc /}%
${fs_bar /}

diskIO ${diskio}${diskiograph}

ip ${execi 600 ruby -e "require 'net/http';Net::HTTP.get_print URI.parse('http://briancarper.net/cgi-bin/ip.cgi')"}
local ip ${addr eth0}

eth0 down ${downspeed eth0} k/s
${downspeedgraph eth0}
eth0 up ${upspeed eth0} k/s
${upspeedgraph eth0}
total up ${totalup eth0}${alignr}total down ${totaldown ethO}

eth1 down ${downspeed eth1} k/s
${downspeedgraph eth1}
eth1 up ${upspeed eth1} k/s
${upspeedgraph eth1}
total up ${totalup eth1}${alignr}total down ${totaldown eth1}

${color #888888}Port(s)${alignr}#Conns
$color Inbnd: ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 count} Outbnd: ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 count}${alignr}ALL: ${tcp_portmon 1 65535 count}
${color #999999}Inbnd Conn ${alignr} Loc Serv/Prt$color
${tcp_portmon 1 32767 rhost 0} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 lservice 0}
${tcp_portmon 1 32767 rhost 1} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 lservice 1}
${tcp_portmon 1 32767 rhost 2} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 lservice 2}
${tcp_portmon 1 32767 rhost 3} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 lservice 3}
${tcp_portmon 1 32767 rhost 4} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 lservice 4}
${tcp_portmon 1 32767 rhost 5} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 lservice 5}
${color #999999}Outbound Connection ${alignr} Remote Service/Port$color
${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rhost 0} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rservice 0}
${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rhost 1} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rservice 1}
${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rhost 2} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rservice 2}
${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rhost 3} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rservice 3}
${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rhost 4} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rservice 4}


${color #999999}Top Processes:
${color #999999}Name PID CPU% MEM%
$color ${top name 1} ${top pid 1} ${top cpu 1} ${top mem 1}
$color ${top name 2} ${top pid 2} ${top cpu 2} ${top mem 2}
$color ${top name 3} ${top pid 3} ${top cpu 3} ${top mem 3}
${color #999999}Mem usage
$color ${top_mem name 1} ${top_mem pid 1} ${top_mem cpu 1} ${top_mem mem 1}
$color ${top_mem name 2} ${top_mem pid 2} ${top_mem cpu 2} ${top_mem mem 2}
$color ${top_mem name 3} ${top_mem pid 3} ${top_mem cpu 3} ${top_mem mem 3}

soxs
July 9th, 2008, 10:01 AM
Either you write something and save it in your home dir named .conkyrc or you copy an allready existing one to your homefolder aka ~
there shouldn't be any issues

Note: .conkyrc is a hidden file, in fact there are a llot hidden config files in your hom dir, so press <STRG><H> to scho/hide them.

aktiwers
July 9th, 2008, 10:07 AM
All right, here goes.


background yes
font Zekton:size=7
xftfont Zekton:size=7
use_xft yes
xftalpha 0.1
update_interval 1.0
total_run_times 0
own_window yes
own_window_type override
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_hints undecorated,below,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
double_buffer yes
draw_shades no
draw_outline no
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders no
minimum_size 220 5
maximum_width 220
default_color d7d7d7
default_shade_color black
default_outline_color black
alignment top_right
gap_x 10
gap_y 40
no_buffers yes
cpu_avg_samples 2
override_utf8_locale no
uppercase no # set to yes if you want all text to be in uppercase
use_spacer no

TEXT
$nodename - $sysname $machine
$kernel
uptime $uptime
freq ${freq}MHz
load $loadavg
${time %a %b %d %Y} ${alignr}

cpu0 ${cpu cpu0}% ${cpubar cpu0}
${cpugraph cpu0}

mem $mem / $memmax $alignr $memperc%
$membar

swap $swap / $swapmax $alignr $swapperc%
$swapbar

/ ${fs_used /} / ${fs_size /}$alignr${fs_free_perc /}%
${fs_bar /}

diskIO ${diskio}${diskiograph}

ip ${execi 600 ruby -e "require 'net/http';Net::HTTP.get_print URI.parse('http://briancarper.net/cgi-bin/ip.cgi')"}
local ip ${addr eth0}

eth0 down ${downspeed eth0} k/s
${downspeedgraph eth0}
eth0 up ${upspeed eth0} k/s
${upspeedgraph eth0}
total up ${totalup eth0}${alignr}total down ${totaldown ethO}

eth1 down ${downspeed eth1} k/s
${downspeedgraph eth1}
eth1 up ${upspeed eth1} k/s
${upspeedgraph eth1}
total up ${totalup eth1}${alignr}total down ${totaldown eth1}

${color #888888}Port(s)${alignr}#Conns
$color Inbnd: ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 count} Outbnd: ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 count}${alignr}ALL: ${tcp_portmon 1 65535 count}
${color #999999}Inbnd Conn ${alignr} Loc Serv/Prt$color
${tcp_portmon 1 32767 rhost 0} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 lservice 0}
${tcp_portmon 1 32767 rhost 1} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 lservice 1}
${tcp_portmon 1 32767 rhost 2} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 lservice 2}
${tcp_portmon 1 32767 rhost 3} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 lservice 3}
${tcp_portmon 1 32767 rhost 4} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 lservice 4}
${tcp_portmon 1 32767 rhost 5} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 lservice 5}
${color #999999}Outbound Connection ${alignr} Remote Service/Port$color
${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rhost 0} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rservice 0}
${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rhost 1} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rservice 1}
${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rhost 2} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rservice 2}
${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rhost 3} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rservice 3}
${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rhost 4} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rservice 4}


${color #999999}Top Processes:
${color #999999}Name PID CPU% MEM%
$color ${top name 1} ${top pid 1} ${top cpu 1} ${top mem 1}
$color ${top name 2} ${top pid 2} ${top cpu 2} ${top mem 2}
$color ${top name 3} ${top pid 3} ${top cpu 3} ${top mem 3}
${color #999999}Mem usage
$color ${top_mem name 1} ${top_mem pid 1} ${top_mem cpu 1} ${top_mem mem 1}
$color ${top_mem name 2} ${top_mem pid 2} ${top_mem cpu 2} ${top_mem mem 2}
$color ${top_mem name 3} ${top_mem pid 3} ${top_mem cpu 3} ${top_mem mem 3}


A shot in the dark, but did you try set use_spacer to yes?

TheSlipstream
July 9th, 2008, 10:18 AM
Well, I tried it, and it didn't work. :(

I'll go try some different code.

Edit: Problem resolved through use of different code!