PDA

View Full Version : Guide for newbie getting started on Java / Eclipse

TonyGould
July 9th, 2008, 12:01 AM
Hi,

I'm an experienced C++ programmer on Windows (and some on NeXT with objective C in the 90s but that's another story!). I've done a Java training course covering Java language + Spring, and want to start developing in Java on Eclipse on Ubuntu. Before I installed 8.04 I had a go at installing Eclipse and didn't do very well, so are there any real-ly sim-ple ins-struct-tions that I could foll-ow? :)

For example, do I go via Synaptic? Do I install a JRE? Anything else?

By the way, it looks like Europa JEE would be the one for me to go for, partly because of Spring, partly because it fits in well with what some people use at work. http://www.eclipse.org/europa. To start off with however I'll probably play around with some simple-as-possible rich client stuff, single-form applications and the like (do people still use swing?), and spring too. Eventually I'd like to be able to try some C++ programming, but that's not important to start with.

I really don't know where to start. Any pointers would be appreciated!

Tony

HotCupOfJava
July 9th, 2008, 12:36 AM
I would use Synaptic. It will automatically pull in all of the related packages you need in addition to the Eclipse packages. It can save you ALOT of headache. It will even set the classpath for you. (I'll say for the record that I use Netbeans instead of Eclipse, though. I don't have a problem with Eclipse, I just haven't used it).

TonyGould
July 9th, 2008, 01:33 AM
I would use Synaptic. It will automatically pull in all of the related packages you need in addition to the Eclipse packages. It can save you ALOT of headache. It will even set the classpath for you. (I'll say for the record that I use Netbeans instead of Eclipse, though. I don't have a problem with Eclipse, I just haven't used it).