PDA

View Full Version : scite+ruby help

AnLGP
July 8th, 2008, 12:51 AM
Hello,

I'm new to programming. A friend recommended Ruby. I downloaded that and scite. I save the program with the .rb extension and hit "F5" to try and run it and it outputs this error:

>ruby p001hello.rb
sh: ruby: command not found
>Exit code: 127

Can anyone tell me what the issue is? The only code I have in the program is

puts 'Hello'

and I believe it's the correct code as I'm following a tutorial. Thank you.

danbuter
July 8th, 2008, 01:00 AM
I would use the terminal. After saving your file, go to terminal and type in ruby filename.rb and it should work.

AnLGP
July 8th, 2008, 01:23 AM
Thank you it worked. To get it to print the file I had to do the whole filename and that was

/home/steve/rubyprograms/p001hello.rb

Is there any way to shorten that for efficiency? Thanks!

Ptero-4
July 8th, 2008, 01:55 AM
type

ruby ./filename.rb
from the directory where your ruby apps are (or alternatively add that directory to your PATH (this is done in the bash config files) and logout for making the changes permanent. After that

ruby filename.rb
will be enough to run the app.

AnLGP
July 8th, 2008, 02:46 AM
Add which directory? The /rubyprograms?

nanotube
July 8th, 2008, 05:46 AM
Add which directory? The /rubyprograms?

/home/yourname/rubyprograms, yes.

i would suggest at this point that you should go through the cli tutorials at linuxcommand.org. it's a good idea to know how to operate the basics of shell, before you get into any "real" programming.

AnLGP
July 8th, 2008, 06:18 AM
I've done those. I can't say I have it memorized.

nanotube
July 8th, 2008, 03:06 PM
I've done those. I can't say I have it memorized.

ah, i see. :)

also, you could tweak scite's config files to be able to 'find' ruby. it really should be able to run your code with "f5", and that makes it mighty convenient. (i haven't run across this problem though - it finds python just fine for me).