PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Xubuntu and Windows 98 SE dual boot

racie
July 7th, 2008, 08:30 PM
Hello. I'm new to all things Linux and I wanted to install Linux on a Windows 98 SE as a dual-boot, so the files aren't lost. I was told I needed partition whatever-you-call-it, so I downloaded Cute Partition Manager. I burned the ISO to a disk, but when I try to boot it on Windows, nothing but a black screen comes up. It doesn't let you type or anything. I asked a question on Yahoo Answers and someone told me that usually Linux does the partitions for you. Can someone please help? Thanks.:biggrin:

*EDIT!* There's a new problem, the above one has been resolved. Please scroll down to my fourth post to see the problem.

avtolle
July 7th, 2008, 08:37 PM
OK, first, you would boot the CD from the CD drive, after being sure your BIOS is set to boot from it. You do not boot it from Windows.

Assuming no errors in the iso file and the burning was successful, the CD should boot (if your machine can boot from CD). Now, then, how much RAM is on your computer? I ask this because to run the Live (Desktop) CD, 384 mb RAM is required.

EDIT: Having reread your post, the problem is with the partitioner and not the Ubuntu Live CD? Is the partitioning program bootable?

EDIT2: OK, now that I reread again, I see that you are trying to go with Xubuntu. The RAM requirements to use the "Live" CD are lower than on Ubuntu (256 mb as I recall). This computer is likely an older one, so the Alternate CD is likely to be a better choice for you than the Live CD (you end up with a full installation, but as it is text based, fewer resources are needed for the installation).

racie
July 7th, 2008, 08:46 PM