PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu Server. Am I an idiot? I only see CLI...



Roasted
July 5th, 2008, 09:46 PM
I just installed Ubuntu Server (Hardy Heron) on my laptop to test it out. I only see CLI, even after logging in and such. I saw screenshots of it and I know there's a GUI to it... right?

What did I do wrong, or forget to do?

Barrucadu
July 5th, 2008, 09:47 PM
Ubuntu has a GUI, Ubuntu Server does not. This is because on a server, a GUI is usually useless as almost all server applications can eb entirely managed through the CLI.

hyper_ch
July 5th, 2008, 09:48 PM
what do you want to have a gui on a server for?

Roasted
July 5th, 2008, 10:34 PM
I'm just used to 2003 server by Windows, where I can see on the gui active directory and all of that. I just expected Ubuntu server to be similar.

Guess not. :(

Barrucadu
July 5th, 2008, 10:39 PM
You'll find Windows Server 2003 is the odd one out; No other server operating systems have a GUI.

avtolle
July 5th, 2008, 10:39 PM
Well, it is your computer, and if you want a GUI, take a look at https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Installation/LowMemorySystems for some ideas of how you might proceed to get one. HTH.

Roasted
July 5th, 2008, 10:40 PM
So... how exactly can you easily navigate to a certain user in active directory to make necessary changes on the fly?

To me, it just makes sense. :confused:

Troll_the_Great
July 5th, 2008, 10:55 PM
You can install any GUI.For example for Gnome (my favorite):

sudo aptitude install ubuntu-desktop
For KDE:

sudo aptitude install kubuntu-desktop
For X-Face:

sudo aptitude install xubuntu-desktop
Did this helped?

Roasted
July 5th, 2008, 11:07 PM
I installed Gnome.
Rebooted.
Logged in.
Still CLI...

Troll_the_Great
July 5th, 2008, 11:11 PM
Type
gdm and tell me what happens.

Roasted
July 5th, 2008, 11:12 PM
It says not installed. You can install it by doing sudo apt-get install gdm.

I typed sudo apt-get install gdm.

gdm package not found.

lol?

(Yes I'm online)

Troll_the_Great
July 5th, 2008, 11:18 PM
This is indeed weird...Are you sure you typed it correctly?

Troll_the_Great
July 5th, 2008, 11:25 PM
Try this:
Type
gksu synaptic and see if you can find gnome-desktop or gdm (or something like that) there.

llamakc
July 5th, 2008, 11:40 PM
Try this:
Type
gksu synaptic and see if you can find gnome-desktop or gdm (or something like that) there.

Synaptic is a GUI program, which the OP doesn't have. Therefore this suggestion won't work.

OP: You have choices. You may still install gdm (the login manager) or you may just start Gnome from the command line.

If you wish to install GDM, please post the contents of your /etc/apt/sources.list file. The package "gdm" is in the main repository so you should see it just fine.

You may be mistyping something so just in case try again:



sudo apt-get install gdm


And then



sudo /etc/init.d/gdm start


The program 'gdm' must be run with sudo or as root, and the init script in /etc/init.d/ will start it successfully for you if you have installed it.

Second: if you just want to fire up Gnome from the command line, do this:



cd


Now you have just changed directories to your home directory /home/USERNAME.
Next we'll open an editor and edit a file.



nano .xinitrc


Place the following in the .xinitrc file.



exec gnome-session


And then from the commandline type:



startx


You will need the package "xinit" installed to use startx.

hyper_ch
July 6th, 2008, 08:51 AM
So... how exactly can you easily navigate to a certain user in active directory to make necessary changes on the fly?

To me, it just makes sense. :confused:

what do you want to do?

sayakb
July 6th, 2008, 08:56 AM
startx
Should start X.

aktiwers
July 6th, 2008, 09:01 AM
sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop
startxShould be all right? :D