PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] clean from scratch dual boot xp an ubuntu

drixomanbeta
July 5th, 2008, 07:12 PM
Hi

I got a 320GB hard disk that i like to dual boot with ubuntu 8 and xp. the disk is new so there is nothing on it... I plan to have the disk divide into the following:

80GB XP,60GB ubuntu, 40GB ubuntu swap, 40GB XP Virtual RAM storage, and the rest just storage...

At first i tried installing xp but the installer only detect 1/3 of my 320GB hard drive... I live-booted into Ubuntu and see it can detect the full capacity of the disk... I don't know what the problem with xp installer but since i want to allocated only 80GB for xp installation i went ahead with the partition in xp setup and divided the xp detected portion into 1 80GB and some free space.

Then I went into ubuntu but i am bit lost on the ubuntu partitioning process so please guide me through the ubuntu setup process with my existing xp...i am a total newb with linux stuff.

Thank you very much!

Partyboi2
July 6th, 2008, 12:20 AM
40GB ubuntu swap is to much, you will only need probably a couple of gig for /swap, roughly about x2 the amount of onboard ram.
When you get to the partitioning part of the installer, choose to use manual and create a ext3 /root partition for the system files, and a /swap partition. If you want to have your home folder (all your data)on its own partition then create a ext3 /home partition as well. This is useful if you need to ever reinstall in the future.
Ubuntu uses the ext3 filesystem but is able to read/write to ntfs, so maybe for the storage partition you can use ntfs so that both machines can access it as windows cannot read/write to ext3 unless you install a small program for windows.

raja
July 6th, 2008, 12:26 AM