PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Recommended Partitions

Dave_P
July 5th, 2008, 12:36 AM
Hi Guys,
I'm fairly new to linux but not a total newbie. I've been MS free now for a month :).

Anyway I've decided to do a fresh install after reading various articles on partitioning and the benefits of keeping thing's separate. Problem is that the articles I have read often gave conflicting advice so I find myself somewhat confused.

I will be using my entire HDD for this install (500 Gig) and would ask advice from you as to a recommended partitioning scheme.

Does below seem ok..?

/ 100 Meg
/usr 30 Gig
/var 1 Gig
/boot 20 Meg
/tmp 100 Meg
/swap 3 Gig
/home The rest of the Disk.

Computer has 3 Gig of Ram, is a Dual core HP Pavillion. I do loads of differing stuff, but would also like to be able to emulate a web server for testing websites. I have just received the 8.04 Ubuntu server disk and plan on doing a clean install soon. I'd like to get the partitioning right 1st though and so would appreciate your advise.

Thanks.

scragar
July 5th, 2008, 12:45 AM
the only one you will find universal agreement on is the seperate home, a lot of people will agree with the boot as well.

all depends on what you want as well, the seperate /var is to prevent logs taking up most of some smaller HDs, which won't happen on a 500GB drive. a seperate /tmp I can't see the benifits of, since tmp is cleaned out all the time, and doesn't ever appear to get any larger. /usr is the most part of your OS, so adding this on a seperate partition doesn't make as much sense as you would think, since it doesn't offer any of the benifits you normaly gain from seperate partitions, unless you reinstall a lot, in which case the odds are the folder will be overwrote with the new installed contents anyway.

Dave_P
July 5th, 2008, 01:02 AM
Ok Thanks for that.
So is below a better partition list..?

/ 100M
/boot 20M
/home Rest of HDD
/swap 3Gig