PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installation Problem - Graphics at Desktop

dafecat
July 4th, 2008, 12:28 AM
Hi there,

I'm a real Noob to Linux and Ubuntu.

I've tried installing the Ubuntu Ultimate 1.8 onto my PC which has Windows XP loaded also.

The install seemed straight forward. I removed the CD from the drive and rebooted the system and got prompted with the 2 operating systems.

When selecting Ubuntu, the Ultimate Edition Splash comes up for a good 30 seconds or so then dissapears. I'm then greeted with a colourful array of squares on my screen. That's it!

What should be the desktop screen is a blob of coloured squares.

I've tried running the live CD version and get the same problem.

I've tried to read in the forums but had no luck, so am posting my problem.

Please help me. I don't know what utilities to use to edit the default graphics drivers or where to go to access them.
If you can help, please keep the advice real noobish! Shame on me!

overdrank
July 4th, 2008, 01:30 AM
Hi there,

I'm a real Noob to Linux and Ubuntu.

I've tried installing the Ubuntu Ultimate 1.8 onto my PC which has Windows XP loaded also.

The install seemed straight forward. I removed the CD from the drive and rebooted the system and got prompted with the 2 operating systems.

When selecting Ubuntu, the Ultimate Edition Splash comes up for a good 30 seconds or so then dissapears. I'm then greeted with a colourful array of squares on my screen. That's it!

What should be the desktop screen is a blob of coloured squares.

I've tried running the live CD version and get the same problem.

I've tried to read in the forums but had no luck, so am posting my problem.

Please help me. I don't know what utilities to use to edit the default graphics drivers or where to go to access them.
If you can help, please keep the advice real noobish! Shame on me!

Hi and welcome, what is the model of the graphics card?

dafecat
July 4th, 2008, 01:39 AM