PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] How do I safely delete old Ubuntu partition?

brundlelinux
July 3rd, 2008, 11:36 AM
Hey guys.... I'm in bit of a bind here.

I've been using Ubuntu for several years now. In that time, I've done a fair amount of experimenting with different things, and I've learned a LOT. I'm so very glad I gave up on Windows and made the switch. The downside is, I have a metric ton of leftover "artifacts" from all my experimenting that I want to get away from and have a much "cleaner" OS running.

Bottom line... I started on Ubuntu Edgy. Somewhere along the line, I installed the entire KDE desktop as well, to get a feel for it. On one partition, I went back and forth between the two desktop environments, and did entire version upgrades along the way, up until Hardy. I can't even begin to count the number of off-repository installs I did from source, mostly without using checkinstall. I know, I know.... like I said, I was learning... and sometimes the hard way. ;-)