PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing a game not working with Wine

theonciest
July 3rd, 2008, 06:42 AM
Alright, heres my problem... I'm fairly new to Ubuntu, I've been at this problem for almost a month now. I still cannot figure it out. Since I'm new its hard maneuvering around Linux trying to figure it out. I thought I would give it a try figuring it out for myself searching google and getting a feel of how Ubuntu Linux works. (I am a Windows user) How ever I really like Ubuntu. :D This is why I do not want to resort to dualbooting Windows, or what ever... that sounds complicated aswell.

Anyways, the game is Entropia Universe. Here is the thread that I have been frequenting for some time.

http://www.entropiaforum.com/forums/technical/61443-entropia-universe-linux-wine.html

I heard Entropia runs more natively on Linux than on Windows. I'm proud of that, but I just want to get it to work. xD

I have installed Wine, I've wiped the c drive for wine clean like 30 times and repeated some process stated by another user on the forums. It isn't helping what-so-ever. I'm starting to get impatient, this game is what I do for my free time. Its turning out that all I'm doing is repeating the same process over and over again during my free time. And I'm forced to wait for someone to post. Thats fine... I just wished their posts weren't...

"I'm sure if you do this, and this... it'll work. ^__________^"

If you guys can help, it would be GREATLY appreciated. I've already become loyal to Ubuntu, theres no going back now. lawl

Sorry for the long post.

Thanks.

brazemcee
July 3rd, 2008, 02:18 PM
Try using PlayOnLinux. I don't know if they support this game. Maybe they do. Check it out.

theonciest
July 4th, 2008, 07:13 AM
:/ Nope, that didn't work.

Partyboi2
July 4th, 2008, 09:19 AM