PDA

View Full Version : Simple mysql++ application

Khao
July 3rd, 2008, 04:52 AM
I'm trying to use the mysql++ api to make a c++ program using it.

I got the api using only apt-get install libmysql++-dev
and I think that's all I need for it.

Then there's my test file (only to test if the include works )

#include <stdio.h>
#include <mysql++/mysql++.h>

int main()
{
int x = 2;
}

But it doesn't really work.. I'm not very good with gcc and compiling so I was looking around the forums and found a line that looked like it was working but it isn't.
gcc -I/usr/include/mysql -I/usr/include/mysql++ -c MysqlTest.cpp -o MysqlTest
It creates the file, then I chmod it to have execute permission and it says 'cannot execute binary file'
Now I have no idea why it would make a binary file :\
If I try to compile using only gcc MysqlTest.cpp it gives me a loooong list of errors with a ton of 'was not declared in this scope'

I'm good at programming but I don't understand much of how compiling and linking works so be easy on me :P

LaRoza
July 3rd, 2008, 06:48 AM
Remove the "-c" flag, which tells it to only compile and not link.

Khao
July 3rd, 2008, 02:14 PM
Ok this helped me and I now managed to compile it with the library included!
But I get stuck on another problem.. When I try to make a mysqlpp connection it doesn't work!
Here's the code :

#include <mysql++.h>

int main()
{
mysqlpp::Connection conn(false);
}

mysqlpp::Connection conn(false); comes right from the mysqp++ example files

and here's the error output :

/tmp/cccp4IsT.o: In function `main':
MysqlTest.cpp:(.text+0xad): undefined reference to `mysqlpp::Connection::Connection(bool)'
MysqlTest.cpp:(.text+0xbb): undefined reference to `mysqlpp::Connection::~Connection()'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status

Anybody knows what's the problem?

Zugzwang
July 3rd, 2008, 02:20 PM
You should definitely look at the "stickies", they tell you about linking and compiling.