PDA

View Full Version : Virus discussion

anotherdisciple
July 1st, 2008, 05:47 PM
I am in no way trying to write a linux virus (I'm a complete newbie and couldn't do it if I wanted to), but I have been wondering what the possibilities are for people to do so. I mean... I know that they could sneak "sudo rm -rf /" (Just so I don't get in trouble for typing that: DON'T USE THAT COMMAND EVER! IT WILL DELETE EVERYTHING!) into a script and try to find some way to get you to run the script as root... but how could they just make it run as root without you helping them along? I'm hoping that the answer is "they can't", but I don't know.

My thought is this... is there were some way that you could use a command to look-up a user's password and use it... you could create a linux virus. Aren't these passwords saved to your disk somewhere? Still, you would have to make an executable file that I would think would need to be run by the user, but that is easier to do than getting them to sudo a file from the terminal.

Now, about deleting a user's personal files. Wouldn't it be really easy to write a script that deletes all of the files in the user's /home/user directory? That wouldn't need root access. I mean... I can always reinstall linux free of charge, but I can't recover my personal files if I failed to back them up. Just an idea... wouldn't it be a good idea to make deleting a single file easy, but make you need root access to delete entire folders in a user's home/user/* folders?

Again... I'm not trying to figure out how to make a virus... I've just been wondering if there is any way to actually do it. And what the linux community is doing to prevent this. I know about ip tables and permissions, so I don't need all of that... just some general discussion about the possibilities.

troy896
July 1st, 2008, 05:53 PM
there is no possible way for a script to do sudo rm -rf / since it will ask you for your password.

RATM_Owns
July 1st, 2008, 05:57 PM