PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 8.4 won't install from CD

jmacg
July 1st, 2008, 06:24 AM
I am a complete Linux newbie who knows his way around Windows but is unable to install Ubuntu 8.04 on a HP Compaq Celeron 2400/512Mb RAM/40Gb HDD that I got as 'bare bones' - no operating system.

Twice now I have downloaded the Ubuntu ISO file and burned the image to a CD. The computer boots up OK with the CD and shows a menu with the option of running from the CD or installing to the hard drive. Neither option works. Both options put a Ubuntu logo on the screen, which goes back and forth for a few minutes, then is replaced by a pageful of error messages that whiz past forever. The messages are similar, though not identical.

One reads:
[4415.[next number garbled in the screen photo I took]] SQUASHFS error: sb_bread failed reading block 0x93427
[4415.[next number garbled in the screen photo I took]] SQUASHFS error: unable to read page, block 24cfb209, size [data missing on my photo]

Another reads:
d, srclength 131072, avail_in 0, avail_out 25887
[362.[next number garbled in the screen photo I took]] SQUASHFS error: sb_bread failed reading block 0x9574d
[362.[next number garbled in the screen photo I took]] SQUASHFS error: unable to read page, block 24cfb209, size d30a
[362.[next number garbled in the screen photo I took]] SQUASHFS error: zlib_inflate returned unexpected result 0xfffffff

There shouldn't be any problem with the Ubuntu disk - each time after downloading the ISO image I checked it for integrity twice - after the download (using Ubuntu's checksum method) and after I burned the image (using the test on the menu that comes up when I boot from the disk). One of the options that came up when booting from the Ubuntu disk was a memory test. I ran that, but it was very slow. After a couple of hours it was still going and had done 18 passes with no errors. I killed the test at that stage. I think I can safely say that the computer's memory is OK.