PDA

View Full Version : How do you run Linux?

samjh
June 30th, 2008, 11:34 AM
I've been using Ubuntu exclusively on my home computer for the past 18 months. It's been a great experience - a far cry from my days struggling to get Red Hat installed 8 years ago! :)

However, today I installed Windows XP as my primary OS and will most likely put Debian or Ubuntu on a virtual machine for tinkering and programming. This is for practical reasons, working with MS Office files with complex and sensitive content (before anyone says it, yes I tried dual-booting and using VMWare and VirtualBox, but neither are efficient way to get work done).

So how do you run your Linux?

(This is a poll.)

fatality_uk
June 30th, 2008, 11:41 AM
Linux only home and work.

meho_r
June 30th, 2008, 11:43 AM
This is interesting indeed. You work with MS Office with complex and sensitive content?! Well, good luck then (and you'll need it;)). I lost couple of years' docs in my office because MS Office Word decided to replace content with rectangles and some symbols. Since that time, I never used MS Office again. Ever. It's simply too inreliable.

And about the pool. I use tripple boot: two Linuxes (Ubuntu 8.04 and openSUSE 11) and Windows XP (only for games).

lisati
June 30th, 2008, 11:46 AM
Desktop has dual-boot Ubunutu 7.04,
laptop did have Ubuntu 7.04 but out of boredom I changed it to xubuntu 7.04 today......

Barrucadu
June 30th, 2008, 11:55 AM
Arch only on my desktop, laptop, and my (after the 15th anyway) new laptop.

crtlbreak
June 30th, 2008, 11:58 AM
dear samjh
I have installed fresh Hardy on my laptop - now going to attack the desktop next for the same. Throwing MS out the house completely. The next step after that will be my office desktops - one by one. Already installing Ubuntu Server as a test to start replacing domain controllers, file, print servers etc - totally sold on this OS - and Fedora. They have both come a looong way.