PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] i lost window borders w/ effects enabled

PLANETARY
June 29th, 2008, 06:43 AM
hello I am new to linux. i just got my system running all happy today (7.10) i had my effects turned on extra and decided to try to suspend the computer and return later. well it seemed to shut down but didnt turn off, i hit keys to wake it up and waited but no response. i turned it off and restarted it later to find that i have no window borders. the only way i get them is with effects turned off. i tried the default depth to 24 but it was already there i also tried metacity -- replace but i still cant get the effects to work properly. i also tried different themes. i dont have any effects programs or anything. this system is a coppermine P3 with a geforce3 and a gig of ram.
thanks

bwang
June 29th, 2008, 08:42 AM
Open a terminal and execute:

sudo apt-get install emerald
Then enable Compiz and hit Alt+F2. Type:

emerald --replace
and see if that works.

PLANETARY
June 30th, 2008, 01:07 AM
ok i installed emerald (what is emerald?) tho i dont know what you mean 'enable compiz' (what is compiz?) i searched around
does this thread help
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=601310

James_the_dude
June 30th, 2008, 01:30 AM
You may have already tried this, but have you gone to "Advanced Desktop Effects Settings" in you system preferences (if you don't see it you can install it, search for "compizconfig-settings-manager", this is a graphical front-end to tweak compiz settings to your liking), and then went to "window decoration" and checked to see if it is enabled?

PLANETARY
June 30th, 2008, 06:14 AM
ok in installed compiz and emerald, it would only allow me to select custom effects with the window decorator disabled. i still cant get the window border even if i turn window decor on and off.

smo0th
June 30th, 2008, 06:24 AM