PDA

View Full Version : Programming Environments

Sinkingships7
June 29th, 2008, 01:12 AM
The purpose of this thread is for everyone to tell us about their programming environment. Do you need things a certain way to hack? Or are you one of those people who can do it anywhere, anytime?

Please describe as much as you're willing to share. Everything from your physical environment, to your virtual environment (post screenshots). Furthermore, what kinds of things prevent you from programming well, if at all? Kids screaming? Fan's too loud? Whatever it may be, share it.

:popcorn:

tinny
June 29th, 2008, 01:56 AM
I am a Java developer, I do about 50% of my development on linux.

I use the Eclipse and Netbeans IDE's and find them absolutely fantastic!

Both these IDE's are great straight out of the box, but there are also literally 100's of plugins that enable you to add various programming aids / tools to your development enviroment.

Also I feel its worthwhile to mention maven. Maven is a software project management tool that can be used as a replacement for the ANT build tool. However Maven does more than just manage your build, it can also be used to manage a software projects dependency, reporting and documentation needs.

http://maven.apache.org/

Maven is only really for Java developers.

LaRoza
June 29th, 2008, 02:08 AM
Three terminals with a tiling window manager (wmii)

One for editing with Vim (more than one file open), one for running and compiling and one for file management (typically, mc)

CptPicard
June 29th, 2008, 02:11 AM
I do want things "just so". Mostly I've been working in Emacs+SLIME recently, but 90% of my coding still takes place in Eclipse and Netbeans. You need to tune your IDE a little to get comfortable.

I like to mostly code at night, too. Darkness helps me focus to the screen.