PDA

View Full Version : Possible to drink too much water?

kaldor
June 28th, 2008, 09:42 PM
Hah, I just thought I'd post this. I drink a lot of water; daily about 5-8 litres. Sometimes I feel a sort of high/fuzzyness if I drink a lot. Is this normal?

-grubby
June 28th, 2008, 09:46 PM
Too much water can be a bad thing. I usually drink about 4 -6 liters a day

chucky chuckaluck
June 28th, 2008, 09:47 PM
i recall a story about some woman dying from drinking too much water on an australian game show. i also recall someone mentioning that had it been mineral water, she would have been fine.

lisati
June 28th, 2008, 09:48 PM
I'm not a doctor (I think there are one or two or more amongst the ranks of forum members) but suspect that the dizziness could be s sign of something that needs to be checked out. But then again, I could be mistaken: like I said, I'm not a doctor.

Dr Small
June 28th, 2008, 09:49 PM
I thought drinking too much water was called drowning. :p

LaRoza
June 28th, 2008, 09:49 PM
Hah, I just thought I'd post this. I drink a lot of water; daily about 5-8 litres. Sometimes I feel a sort of high/fuzzyness if I drink a lot. Is this normal?

That isn't enough to cause a problem, if you make sure you get your minerals also (especially sodium and potassium), preferably from natural sources (vegetables are good for this)

To drink too much water, you'd have to drink a lot more than that. It is possible, it is called hyponatremia, where you are too dilute.

(I am not a doctor, if you suspect medical issues, get a doctor.)

http://chemistry.about.com/cs/5/f/blwaterintox.htm

kaldor
June 28th, 2008, 09:50 PM
I'm not a doctor (I think there are one or two or more amongst the ranks of forum members) but suspect that the dizziness could be s sign of something that needs to be checked out. But then again, I could be mistaken: like I said, I'm not a doctor.