PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Multiboot troubles, incl. what's GRUB?

Croow
June 28th, 2008, 08:54 PM
Hi, I'm new to linux and I hope you can help. (actual questions are posted at the end).

Over the past years I've been multibooting WinOSs by using the BIOS boot menu. Most recently I've been using XP and Vista (each installed on its own hd). This all works great because each OS thinks it's the only OS installed so there's no trouble when I swap drives in and out.

Enter Ubuntu.
I added a third hd into the mix and installed ubuntu onto it and things look great, except the XP disk, which will no longer boot. Having read some posts on this seeming common topic, I've included the
"sudo fdisk -lu" output below.

Disk /dev/sda: 320.0 GB, 320072933376 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders, total 625142448 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xc321e5da

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 63 625121279 312560608+ 7 HPFS/NTFS

Disk /dev/sdb: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders, total 976773168 sectors
Disk identifier: 0x6e1678e5

/dev/sdb1 * 63 976768064 488384001 7 HPFS/NTFS

Disk /dev/sdc: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24321 cylinders, total 390721968 sectors
Disk identifier: 0x2f374192

/dev/sdc1 * 63 378635984 189317961 83 Linux
/dev/sdc2 378635985 390716864 6040440 5 Extended
/dev/sdc5 378636048 390716864 6040408+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris

Where,
Disk /dev/sda: 320.0 GB (WinXP SATA AHCI)
Disk /dev/sdb: 500.1 GB (Vista SATA AHCI)
Disk /dev/sdc: 200.0 GB (Ubuntu IDE)

From the BIOS boot menu, choosing the XP disk produces the GRUB 1.5 menu followed by an Error 21. A second GRUB screen listing five Ubuntu options comes next and each gives an Error 17.

From the BIOS boot menu, choosing the Vista disk everything works great (well, vista-style great).

From the BIOS boot menu, choosing the Ubuntu disk everything works too.