PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu or openSUSE for new users?

damphoud
June 28th, 2008, 03:55 PM
I'm sure this has been discussed a few times, but I cant seem to get a definitive answer. I always run into people who want linux installed on their computer, but I have a hard choice. Should I install Ubuntu or openSUSE? I've been running different linux distros for the past 2-3 years, but I do not consider myself a power user. I wouldn't know how one could benefit a new user over the other, except for feel of the os. I'm kind of leaning towards openSUSE...

kaldor
June 28th, 2008, 04:22 PM
I would say Ubuntu. Ubuntu just seems to be the easiest. If they are Windows users, have them try Kubuntu with KDE 3.5

verb3k
June 28th, 2008, 04:29 PM
Ubuntu is the best for new users. Ubuntu is the only distro that convinced me to stay with it after I experimented with many distros in a long journey (Fedora, Suse, Mandriva ...etc)

damphoud
June 28th, 2008, 04:38 PM
I've posted in openSUSE forums as well. Should be interesting to see the different responses. :D

I do find Ubuntu to be easy as well... maybe I should just run the different live cds and see which one he/she likes.

chucky chuckaluck
June 28th, 2008, 04:47 PM
i tried opensuse the other day and found yack (or, whatever it is) to be a confusing mess.

Redrazor39
June 28th, 2008, 04:48 PM
openSUSE looks nicer, but requires more knowledge. Ubuntu is much better for new users. I used it first, tried openSUSE, and came back to Ubuntu because of the community support.

gn2
June 28th, 2008, 05:01 PM
For new users: Linux Mint

Beats Ubuntu and openSUSE hands down.

damphoud
June 28th, 2008, 05:09 PM
I don't know if I can agree with you Redrazor39. From the gui level, I find YAST to provide many configuration options that would need to be done though the command line in Ubuntu. Unless there is something that I'm missing?

bobbob1016
June 28th, 2008, 05:29 PM